Tigers Official Sponsor

Multiple Teams · Jackson District 8-6A Blocker of Year, Holder and Surovik First Team All-District 8-6A

The District 8-6A All-District Awards and Superlatives were released on Monday morning.

Belton’s Elicia Jackson was named the district’s Most Valuable Blocker for the 2017 season. Jackson, a senior middle blocker for the Lady Tigers, just completed a dynamite career in red and white.

Copperas Cove’s Aidan Chace was the Most Valuable Player for District 8-6A. Midway’s Reese Rhodes was named Setter of the Year, Midway’s Kennady Childers was named Hitter of the Year and Cove’s Leah Powell was named Newcomer of the Year. Cove libero Kristen Wasiak and Ellison libero Jaraysia Hope were named Defenders of the Years. Cove head coach Cari Lowery was named District 8-6A Coach of the Year.

Belton was represented well on the All District 8-6A First Team. Sophomore setter Emily Holder and junior right side hitter Kelsey Surovik were named to the First Team. Other members of the First Team were Cove’s Kamryn Ash and Talia Kinslow, Midway’s Madison Rohre and Hannah Langerman, Ellison’s Symone Thomas and Jakarta Hope, Harker Heights’ Aliyah Lockett, Killeen’s Alia Vines and Shoemaker’s Alexia Wilkinson.

The Lady Tigers had two players on the Second Team. Junior libero Madison Ward and senior rightside hitter Kale Kincannon garnered Second Team honors. Other players on the Second Team were Shoemaker’s Nicole Pena and Charlene Shepherd, Killeen’s Sadee Songer and Chantel Veal, Harker Heights’ Valeria Cosme and McKayla Flowers, Ellison’s Breonna Fleming and Samantha Robinson, Midway’s Shelby Saul and Emery Judkins, and Cove’s Christina Pettigrew.

Lady Tigers on the Honorable Mention list were: Senior outside hitter Jamie Janczak, junior middle blocker Kamryn Madden and sophomore rightside hitter Hanna Griffin.

Belton a bevy of representatives on the All-Academic District 8-6A squad. Ward, Griffin, Holder, Janczak, Jackson, Kincannon, Madden, Surovik, Katie Bain, Eli Smith, Alina Holguin, Mackenzie Katzer, Sierra Schoepf, and McKenzie Pisciotta were members of the team.EmilyHolderAllDistrict86A2017

Emily Holder: First Team All-District 8-6A


Kelsey Surovik, First Team All-District 8-6A, and Elicia Jackson, District 8-6A Blocker of the Year.