Wall of Honor Team Inductees

Wall of Honor Team Inductees

State Champions

1909 Belton Track Team

Belton became the first Texas high school to win a state title in track & field in 1909. Belton won the 4-way (“Final Four”) State meet over Austin HS, Dallas HS & San Antonio HS.

Belton won 7 of the 13 individual events. Sr Roy Holcomb won 4 gold medals and set 4 state records, Sr Pat Dougherty set 3 records & Sr Arthur O’Connor set 1 state record.

1909 State Champion Belton Track Team Full Write Up


1958 Belton Tiger Basketball Team

In 1958, Belton won its only Basketball State Title with a 58-56 victory over New London in sudden death overtime.

The Tigers trailed by 8 pts with 2 1/2 minutes to play, but rallied back with a 17-9 run. Sr James Brantley made 2 FT’s in the second (sudden death) OT to secure the State Championship.

Ten of the twelve players on the team received athletic scholarships and all 12 graduated from college.

1958 State Championship Basketball Team Full Write Up


1985 Belton Girls’ Golf Team

The 1985 Belton Girls Golf Team won the 4-A State Title with a winning total of 742 strokes to 760 for the runner-up Sulphur Springs.

Susan Teas was the top individual scorer at 168 & finished fourth.

From 1981-1989 Coach Ken Taylor led the Belton Girls to state titles in 1985 & 1988, finished 2nd in 1987 & 1989 & finished 3rd in 1983 & 1984.

1985 State Champion Girls Golf Team Full Write Up


1988 Belton Girls Golf Team

In 1988, the Belton Girls Golf Team won the 4-A state title with a winning total of 671 strokes to defeat Andrews, the defending state champion, by 64 strokes.

Shelly Yarnell and Jean Hamrick were the top Belton scorers at 165 (tied for 6th).

Three of the team members played golf at Tarleton State & Hamrick later played on the professional circuit.

1988 State Champion Girls Golf Team Full Write Up


1994 Belton Baseball Team

In 1994, Belton secured its only Baseball State Championship with a 4-0 Victory over Big Spring in the Class 4-A State Title Game. Belton defeated Carthage in the State Semi-Final game, coming from behind to secure a spot in the title game with a 9-5 win.

Coach David Tidwell was named 4-A Coach of the Year and pitcher/shortstop Brock Rumfield was named 4-A Player of the Year.

1994 State Champion Baseball Team Full Write Up


Harris High School State Champs

Harris High School merged into Belton High School in 1967.

Charles Sweeney won the Prairie View Interscholastic League (PVIL) Class B 440 yd Dash in 1952 & 1953.

Austin Cleveland won the (PVIL) Mile run in 1954.

The Harris High School Girls Track Team won the (PVIL) Class B State Team Championship in 1955, led by state champion 440 yd relay team of Sweeney, Demerson, Ford, & Knight.

Barbara Lewis won a State Championship in Baseball Throw in 1955.

Harris High School State Champions Full Write Up